“I don’t think that any musical ensemble has been the subject of more profound musical reflection than the String Quartet. Through it the vessel of music has probed the deepest seas. After a life span of 250 years it still cannot be limited to the sum of its parts and presents itself to us as an “instrument” whose dialogue between individuality and humanity, autonomy and homogeneity, appears as the paradigm of an ideal society”

Luciano Berio

The European Chamber Music Academy (ECMA) is a confederation that brings together the most prestigious European universities and music schools, conservatories and festivals in the field of chamber music, providing on-going training for chamber ensembles emerging on the European scene.

ECMA was founded in 2004 in order to develop and expand the activities of the European String Quartet Academy, created and founded by Piero Farulli in 2002 together with Norbert Brainin, Milan Škampa and Hatto Beyerle. Beyerle's involvement would be decisive regarding the founding of ECMA.

From its establishment through 2020, the European String Quartet Academy also created training sessions within the Scuola di Musica di Fiesole - developing study sessions, pedagogical protocols and further tools - coordinated by Antonello Farulli, who subsequently served as the Academy’s Artistic Director.

ECMA's partner institutions host regular sessions where renowned tutors work intensively with ensembles, imparting new impetus to their artistic training. In addition, the conferences offered and the scheduled concerts aimed at the general public close the circle of professional training at an international level.



ECMA Members:
AUSTRIA, Vienna - mdw - Universität für Musik und darstellende Kunst

AUSTRIA, Grafenegg - Grafenegg Kulturbetriebsgesellschaft m.b.H.
CINA, Shangai - Shanghai Conservatory of Music
DENMARK. Copenhagen - Det Kongelige Danske Musikkonservatorium
FRANCE, Paris - Conservatoire national supérieur de musique
ITALY, Fiesole - Scuola di Musica di Fiesole - Fondazione O.N.L.U.S.
LITHUANIA, Vilnius - Lietuvos muzikos ir teatro akademija
NORWAY, Oslo - Norges Musikkhøgskole
SWITZERLAND, Bern - Hochschule der Künste
THE NETHERLANDS, The Hague - Koninklijk Conservatorium
UNITED KINGDOM, Manchester - Royal Northern College of Music