Teacher: Ricardo Castro - 7 sessions

Programme: The program is 2 years long and will work on how to read and prepare an orchestral score, on the approach of modern conducting techniques and rehearsing strategies for chamber and symphony orchestras, and on how to choose specific conducting and soloist strategies for the piano repertoire with orchestra.

No conducting skills are required. The best ones (up to 2 chosen) will have the opportunity to play conduct with orchestra during the 2 years program. Students will have the opportunity to rehearse and play concerts with chamber music groups at the Scuola di Musica di Fiesole.

Admission requirements:
1 Sonata by Mozart, Beethoven or Schubert
1 Etude by Chopin or Liszt
1 Romantic piece (can be the first movement of a piano concerto)
1 piece written after 1910 (can be the first movement of a piano concerto)
At the professor’s discretion, the best students may be chosen to hold recitals during the year.
The course will take place only if the minimum number of students required is reached.

Exam: Eliminatory: Video with the first movement of a classical Sonata and one Etude by Chopin or Liszt, to be published as unlisted in YouTube until 2019 September 30th. You can send the link to the following e-mail address: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. Results will be sent by mail on 2019 October 15th. Final: Chosen candidates are invited to perform the complete répertoire on 2019 October 30th at 4 p.m

Lessons: 7 collective sessions of 2 days according to a schedule established by the professor. First lessons: 2019 October 30th, 31st
2019 December 6th, 7th
2020 January 20th, 21st
2020 April 1st , 2nd
2020 April 27th, 28th
2020 May 25th, 26th
2020 June 12th 13t

Individual course registration fee (non-refundable, to be enclosed with the application form) valid also as auditor’s attendance fee: € 130,00. Individual attendance fee (to be paid within 15th December): € 2000,00. 
Application deadline: 2019 30th September, with the YouTube link included